My beef with the Undroppable List

I’m writing today about a topic unrelated to current fantasy news, or anything happening related to Fantasy Football. I just want to vent about how much I hate the Undroppable List. If you don’t know what the UL (Undroppable List) is, then pretty much it’s a list that ESPN creates (For fantasy players on other sites, do they have the UL? Because I play on ESPN and they do, luckily you can turn it off) so that you cannot drop certain players that ESPN has put on the list. So pretty much, if you had Jamaal Charles in a non-keeper, Undroppable List this year, you’re screwed. You pretty much have to keep him on your bench and eat up roster space all year long. I am a BIG hater of the Undroppable List, maybe because I’ve been burned by it so many times. I play in a lot of leagues in ESPN.com, some with friends, one with fellow bloggers (Bloggers League, see previous post for more), and the rest in public leagues or maybe with one friend and the rest of the league is public. Almost all of the time in these public leagues, they have the Undroppable List. Now, playing in these leagues, public leagues, are awesome, and I love them, because it really shows you where you stand, especially if you play in a deep league with a bunch of people who actually check their team. That’s another thing I hate and I might write about that sometime. I’ve been burned WAY too many times by the terrible Undroppable List. I’m talking about Tom Brady the year he was out for the year, Peyton Manning this year, Jamaal Charles this year, and many more. I might be just unlucky, but I hate this feature. The only thing I see good about it, maybe, is so that teams don’t cheat and “root” for each other to win the league, usually when one team is in and the other is out of the playoffs. Fortunately, that rarely, if ever, happens in a public league and usually happens more in a private league, I’ve had experience with that. Back to why I hate the Undroppable List. I don’t see why on earth it is fair to be penalized for DRAFTING A GOOD PLAYER! I mean, if I drafted Jamaal Charles, who is a top 5 player according to ESPN.com, and he got hurt, which he did, now my chances of winning have dropped, because I can’t pick up anyone else and I have to keep Charles on my team. How could I have known that Charles (or anyone, in any season, for that matter) was going to get injured and go on the IR for the rest of the season? It’s just not fair. Enough ranting, at least there are a few ways that the Undroppable List won’t make a huge difference.

1. Well, you can be lucky and have an IR spot waiting for you. If you have only one, sure, if another player gets injured, then you have a problem, but at least you can pick someone up for someone who is out for the year.

2. You can just decide to not choose the Undroppable List if you create the league, whether it is public or private. Also, you can tell your friends and people you play fantasy sports with to not utilize the Undroppable List.

Now, maybe you disagree with me, and think that the Undroppable List is a good thing, so you can just disregard this if you think that. I just get really frustrated when I get hurt from the UL. And believe me, it happens a lot.

*Did you enjoy my fantasy ranting? I did, so if you liked it, please tell me, I might make it a regular feature on FFH.

This entry was posted in ESPN, Fantasy Baseball, Fantasy Basketball, Fantasy Football, Fantasy Hockey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to My beef with the Undroppable List

  1. caniacwiz says:

    Thankfully our league has this disabled, otherwise I would’ve been stuck with Charles for the whole season.

  2. I like it, but liked the article on our trade better.

  3. Ted Fougner says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  4. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  5. Hi there! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice info you will have here on this post. I will likely be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  6. What are good blog posts for a writer who wants to start a blog that even non-readers might want to visit?

  7. Deangelo New says:

    Thank you for another informative web site. Where else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  8. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  9. Jarod Dantos says:

    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your website in internet explorer, would check this… IE still is the market leader and a large portion of people will miss your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  10. Enoch Mally says:

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  11. Hi there, I found your site via Google while searching for a related topic, your website came up, it looks great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  12. I want to express my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this type of crisis. As a result of looking throughout the internet and obtaining strategies which were not productive, I believed my life was well over. Living without the solutions to the issues you have sorted out all through your entire write-up is a critical case, as well as the kind which could have in a wrong way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your website. That skills and kindness in maneuvering every part was crucial. I am not sure what I would have done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. It’s possible to now look forward to my future. Thanks a lot so much for this high quality and amazing help. I will not be reluctant to suggest your blog post to anybody who desires guidance on this problem.

  13. Pat Huffer says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  14. Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  15. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  16. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this website and give it a glance on a constant basis.

  17. anon says:

    You’re beef is made up.
    “This list is subject to change at any time for reasons such as injury, personnel changes, etc.”
    http://games.espn.go.com/ffl/tools/undroppables
    Charles was removed after his injury.

    • I see what you’re saying, but that’s not completely true. Brady wasn’t removed after injury. Also, the undroppable list still is very unfair, because owners can’t predict the future.

  18. I’m just having this crazy idea, I’m planning to post comic pages or strips on Blogger, since its generating revenue from Google Adsense, I might profit from this, hehe (me gloating like an alien Ferengi). Will this idea work?.

  19. What information technologies could we use to make it easier to keep track of when new blog posts were made a?

  20. Is using a custom font on blogger considered personal or commercial use?

  21. How to start a blog. Kindly suggest books on the subject?

  22. What’s a good wordpress blog theme for an icanhascheeseburer or failblog clone?

  23. I want to start a blog but would like to own the domain. Any ideas how to go about this?.

  24. In Firefox you have the standard silver toolbars where the address bar and file/edit bars are there is the silver background. How do you customize and change that around?.

  25. I have a song [mp3 file] and i want it to automatically play when you enter my wordpress blog. On all the pages if possible but preferably just on the homepage if simpler. I’m new to wordpress so it might be tough but if anyone can confirm it’s possible and perhaps tell me how it would be greatly appreciated.. . Also i installed firebug if that’s any help..

  26. magnificent post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You should continue your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  27. Reba Knowell says:

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  28. Phil Baklund says:

    I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

Leave a comment