Big Trade in Bloggers League! At least for me

I'm hoping this latest trade, involving Ryan Mathews earns me a win this week.

Big news in Bloggers League! I’ve been looking to make a big trade and I just did, this time with Sam Brief of sambrief.com, which is a fantastic site, definitely check it out. Anyway, I’m 0-3 and struggling big time in a league that has only 11 regular season games before the playoffs start. Here’s the trade.

I Traded: James Starks, RB, Green Bay Packers; Mike Wallace, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers, Kellen Winslow, TE, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; and LaDainian Tomlinson, RB, New York Jets

I Received: Marques Colston, WR, New Orleans Saints; and Vernon Davis, TE, San Francisco 49ers. I also received Ryan Mathews, RB, San Diego Chargers in the same deal. 

I’ve been wanting to have a trade, and writing a fantasy sports blog with a team who’s 0-3 and 10th place (aka last) in a bloggers league is not good at all. Luckily, Sam’s Sports Brief (the name of Sam’s team and also his blog, once again, check it out) was willing to make a trade, and after 2-3 trade attempts that were denied, mostly by me, we sorted out this deal.

Analysis:

I like this trade a lot, it gives me a lot of new faces and players that I needed. I needed a change of scenery, as a 0-3 team, and I got it. I’ll go player-to-player in this trade. Meaning, I’ll match up a player with another player in this trade. The players I match up are the closest in value in my opinion in the deal.

Sure, Mike Wallace is a great receiver, probably the best on my team, but I had to make a move.

-Mike Wallace for Ryan Mathews

Both players are great, especially this year. It depends what you need. I have a very good WR corp (Greg Jennings, Reggie Wayne, Percy Harvin), and I wanted a running back as Tomlinson and Reggie Bush weren’t going to do much for me. Wallace is a top-notch receiver, my best this season, but giving him up for an elite running back in Mathews is worth it, in my situation.

Verdict: Win for me, but only because I already have good wide receivers.

Vernon Davis for Kellen Winslow? You bet'cha!

-Vernon Davis for Kellen Winslow

This is a complete win. Davis is a very good TE, and even with Alex Smith as his quarterback will put up big numbers. Winslow and my other TE Owen Daniels did virtually nothing for me, I needed a tight end, and I got one. Winslow was very injury riddled as well, and gimpy throughout the first three games. Very happy to welcome Davis to my team.

Verdict: Big Win

When he's healthy, this guy is Dangerous with a capital D.

-Marques Colston for James Starks

Colston’s stock has fallen since he’s been injured for the first 4 weeks, but he’s a very good receiver, and even if he doesn’t perform so well this week, I’m glad to have him on my team. He can have #2 or even #1 status as a WR when he’s on, so this is a win.

Verdict: Win

What's the risk? Who knows, maybe he'll do something helpful for me!

LaDainian Tomlinson I gave away for pretty much nothing and added struggling RB DeAngelo Williams from the free agent list. Like Chris Johnson, Williams’ value may never be lower this season.

Verdict: No risk, but possible reward

By the way, you might have noticed I traded 4 players to Sam for 3 players. He had one too many players and dropped Jerome Harrison from his team in order to complete the trade.

Now, I know I may be VERY biased, like Clark of basketballonmymind.wordpress.com pointed out last week after I wrote a post about the trade I made with him, but if I looked at it from Sam’s point of view, I think he’d be happy with the trade as well. It’s a win-win for sure, for both teams. Hopefully I’ll get over the hump and put a win to my name this week against The Newton Effect (Eddie from caniacwiz.wordpress.com).

This entry was posted in ESPN, Fantasy Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Big Trade in Bloggers League! At least for me

  1. Foreal, traded Mike Wallace? He looks untouchable so far this year, but I like getting Mathews in return.

  2. I would like to express my thanks to the writer just for bailing me out of this situation. As a result of exploring through the world-wide-web and meeting tricks which are not powerful, I figured my entire life was well over. Existing devoid of the answers to the problems you have sorted out as a result of your main blog post is a serious case, as well as the kind that might have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I had not encountered the website. Your own talents and kindness in taking care of every item was excellent. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I’m able to at this moment relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for this skilled and result oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to suggest your web sites to any individual who would need recommendations on this subject.

  3. I have a great interest in computer and aircrafts, especially military aircrafts. I am planning to do computer engineering and be involved in the designing of military aircrafts (aircraft’s computer).. I need to know whether the US Air Force needs computer engineers and if yes, will a computer engineer be wearing uniform and do they have military ranks ?.

  4. There’s an interesting webpage that has just been deleted, but thanks to the miracle of hibernation, it’s still open in Firefox. The problem is, when I save it, it seems to attempt to retrieve the page from its source on the internet, which no longer exists. Is there any way I can configure Firefox to save the locally-held files instead?.

  5. I want to use the WayBackMachine to try to retrieve my old Yahoo! 360 Blog posts, but I don’t know what the URL format was. So far I am coming up empty. Anybody have an example URL that I can use to reconstruct a valid URL for my old blog? Thanks!.

  6. Does anyone know where I can start a free website?

  7. whoah this weblog is fantastic i really like studying your posts. Keep up the great work! You already know, lots of people are looking around for this info, you can help them greatly.

  8. Thanks for any other informative website. The place else may just I get that kind of information written in such an ideal approach? I’ve a project that I’m simply now operating on, and I have been at the glance out for such information.

  9. Using “Capability Manager” I have allowed contributors to upload media to the media library of my wordpress website.. . At the moment, however, they can still see the uploads that have been submitted by other users.. . I need to be able to moderate the uploads, so if everyone can see them before I do, it defeats the object!. . Therefore, how do you set wordpress so that a contributor can only see the content that they contribute?. . Thanks!.

  10. How my blog post title to appear not the blog title during a search engine query for a specific keyword?

  11. How do I get my WordPress articles to pop up in peoples google searches?

  12. jersey says:

    There is clearly a bundle to know about this. I consider you made various good points in features also.

  13. Exie Stelb says:

    Hi, thx for this article – really helpful!

  14. It’s good, but I wish you could tell something more about this topic

  15. Hi, I’ll be very happy if u could write sth else about it.

  16. Pingback: Another trade in Bloggers League! | Fantasy Help… all the time

Leave a comment